Sponsor Group

The Sponsor Group oversees the developments of the Ocean Knowledge-Action Network and supports the realisation of its ideas and ambitions.

The group is composed of representatives from each of the four co-sponsoring organisations: Future Earth, the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC), Scientific Committee on Oceanic Research (SCOR) and World Climate Research Programme (WCRP).

Craig Starger  (chair)
Research Liaison Officer


Michelle Scobie
Lecturer, International Law, Global Environmental Governance at The University of the West Indies, St Augustine, Trinidad & Tobago


Salvatore Aricò
Head of the Ocean Science Section of IOC, UNESCO, Paris, France


Kirsten Isensee
Project Specialist for Ocean Carbon in the Ocean Science Section of IOC, UNESCO, Paris, France


Marie-Alexandrine Sicre
President of SCOR and Directrice de Recherche at CNRS, LOCEAN, Paris, France


Ed Urban
Executive Director of SCOR at the University of Delaware, Newark, USA


Boris Dewitte
Research scientist of IRD/LEGOS in Toulouse, France, located at the Centre for Advanced Studies in Arid Zone (CEAZA) in Serena, Chile


Michael Sparrow
WCRP Senior Scientific Officer at the World Meteorological Organisation in Geneva, Switzerland