Pop-up communications webinars

Want to reach more people with your research? Future Earth’s Pop Up webinars are designed to give researchers the tools to engage with a wider audience. 

These masterclasses will kick off a new series of Future Earth pop-up webinars to cover topics such as working with the media and engaging with policy makers. 

Using practical examples and tailored feedback, the webinars will cover making the most of twitter, turning a research paper into a blog, writing for newspapers and using visualisation techniques to turn your data into beautiful infographics and informative maps. 

Can I join in? 
Yes! The webinars are open to all and aimed at scientists and communicators working on environmental and global change research. Space is limited to registrants - follow the links below to sign up. 

I can't join on those dates! Don't worry - our videos and materials will be made freely available on this page after each masterclass. 

Date

Programme

May 11 2016

8:00 – 9:00 UTC/ 16:00 – 17:00 UTC

Best practices on transdisciplinary and co-designed research

In this webinar, we discuss the aims, concepts and principles behind the co-design approach to research and learn about some best-practice examples from Finland for interacting with stakeholders.

September 9 2015

11:00 – 12:30 CEST/
09:00 – 10:30 UTC

How to tweet about science and sustainability

Learn how to make the most of this social media tool – compiling a great tweet, forming a good Twitter bio, building a following, live tweeting from a conference and using Storify to package tweets together into a compelling story.

 

 

September 16 2015

11:00 – 12:30 CEST/
09:00 – 10:30 UTC

How to write a science blog people want to read (part 1)

Turning a research paper into a blogpost and structuring your stories. The first 30 webinar participants to submit their blog stories will receive personalised feedback and the chance to have their story published on the Future Earth blog.

 

 

September 30 2015

11:00 – 12:30 CEST/
09:00 – 10:30 UTC

How to write a science blog people want to read (part 2)

In this webinar, we’ll review submitted blog stories, discuss lessons learned and touch on how to live blog from a conference.

 

 

October 14 2015

15:00 – 16:30 CEST/
13:00 – 14:30 UTC

Eye catching science: Free visualisation tools to turn data into designer (part 1)

In this webinar you’ll learn:
- Overview and introduction to free online tools for creating infographics

 

October 21 2015

11:00 – 12:30 CEST/
09:00 – 10:30 UTC

Writing scientific commentaries

Turning scientific research into an agenda-setting commentary.

 

October 28 2015

15:00 – 16:30 CET/
14:00 – 15:30 UTC

Eye catching science: Free visualisation tools to turn data into designer (part 2)

In this webinar, we’ll review your infographics, discuss lessons learned and next steps.

November 4 2015

11:00 – 12:00 CET/
10:00 – 11:00 UTC

Writing op-eds

Learn how to write opinion pieces for science media and more – and how to get them published.

 

tbc

Creating interactive maps

A beginners’ guide to using free online mapping software to create interactive and informative maps.

Registration link coming soon!