Mohd Nordin Hasan


Nordin Hasan is a Professor Emeritus at the Institute for Environment and Development (LESTARI) of the Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia. He is a graduate of the Faculty of Agriculture, University of Malaya (1967 -1971) and the Faculty of Science, University of London (1971-1974) where he obtained his PhD. He was a professor of zoology, Faculty of Life Sciences, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (1983 – 2003) and the founding director of the University’s Institute for Environment and Development (LESTARI) established in 1994. He was appointed Emeritus Professor (Environment and Development) Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia in 2005. He served as Distinguished Fellow of the Institute for Strategic and International Studies (ISIS) Malaysia (2012 – 2014) and is a member of the World Conservation Union (IUCN)'s Commission on Ecosystem Management (CEM). He is active in regional scientific organizations was President, Science Council of Asia (2012 – 2014). He served as Commissioner of the United Nations Commission on Science and Technology for Development (CSTD) from 1993-1997. He currently serves on the International Advisory Boards of the International Center of Excellence on Integrated Research on Disaster Risks (IRDR-ICoE-Taipei), and the on the Advisory Board of the Center for Sustainability Science (CSS) of Academia Sinica. Nordin is a Member of the Expert Committee for Target 14 - Global Initiative on Legal Preparedness for Achieving the Aichi Biodiversity Targets. His recent publications include chapters entitled International Experience in Ecosystem Services and Management in China published by Springer in 2013. His latest publication is on Urban Health Dynamics in the Asia-Pacific Region: Meeting the Challenge of Taking a Systems Approach with Proust, K., B. Newell, and A. Capon that will be published in Urban Dynamics and Health. Karthala Editions, Paris later this year. In 2014 in recognition of his contributions to the field, Nordin was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Science (DSc.) in sustainability science by Universiti Malaysia Terengganu.